PDA

View Full Version : Sparton scs-3r



kiowamtp
01-29-2005, 09:15 PM
Sorry for another Sparton post!! I have searched high and low for the color codes for my wires. The links I found on this site are no longer active. If anyone has the information please post it. Thanks

Kevin

John O
01-30-2005, 04:17 PM
This is how my 65 was:

Light Tan = power fed through flasher

Brown = power from brake light switch

Orange = right rear light

Dark Blue = right front light

Yellow = left front light

Light Blue = left rear light

Black = Blinking light

kiowamtp
01-30-2005, 04:46 PM
http://home.comcast.net/~jeepboy360cj/57puwirecolor.jpg

http://home.comcast.net/~jeepboy7/7wire.htm

http://home.comcast.net/~jeepboy7/headlights.html


Thanks to John O for the updated links.

Kevin

John A. Shows
01-31-2005, 10:34 AM
Here's some more info

This is an email exchange between myself and Stan Day (65 CJ5)

John, when I did mine this was the color code setup I had (my wires are old so there may be some discrepancy here):

1) LF = single yellow wire
2) LR= single green wire

3) RF = dark grey wire in 3-wire plug
4) RR = orange wire in 3-wire plug

5) brake switch power = light grey wire in 3-wire plug

6) flasher load: white wire to flasher socket (terminal "L")
7) flasher pilot: black wire to flasher socket (terminal "P")

+12V to terminal "X" in the flasher socket.

You should have 7 wires though, not 6. Is there another wire color?


John, I took my old Sparton apart tonight and checked wires. Mine's a model SCS 3R (self cancelling switch). Here's the actual Sparton color codes:

LF=yellow
LR=light blue

RF=black
RR=orange

Brake=purple or brown, mine is so old it's hard to tell...

Load=white
Pilot=black

Having 2 black wires makes it hard to tell what's what but that's how mine came. Also you'll note that some of my color codes change between the Sparton and the Jeep wiring itself. Don't know if that's original but probably is. Here's how things crossed over in mine:

1) LF = single yellow wire (Sparton: yellow)
2) LR= single green wire (Sparton: light blue)

3) RF = dark grey wire in 3-wire plug (Sparton: black)
4) RR = orange wire in 3-wire plug (Sparton: orange)

5) brake switch power = light grey wire in 3-wire plug (Sparton: purple or brown)

6) flasher load: white wire to flasher socket (terminal "L") (Sparton: white)
7) flasher pilot: black wire to flasher socket (terminal "P") (Sparton: black)

+12V to terminal "X" in the flasher socket.

So the best way to check all this is to take the switch apart if you have to and check it with a meter to be sure you get things hooked up right!

kiowamtp
01-31-2005, 11:51 AM
I concur.

LF=yellow
LR=light blue

RF=black
RR=orange

Brake=purple or brown, mine is so old it's hard to tell...

Load=white
Pilot=black


I have the same color wiring. Had to take off the cover to see which black wire was the bulb wire in the assembly.

I may have lost a washer though in the reassembly. There was so much dirt and grime in there that it feels ten pounds lighter!!! I still have yet to hook up to a painless wiring harness. If anyone has any pointers let me know please. All the cables are marked so shouldn't be too hard.
Also, still wondering how the self cancellation works.

Also, does anyone have a picture with the cover off. Yes, something so simple may have been reassembled incorrectly! I was so focused on cleaning. I always said I was "DIRT ROAD SIMPLE!"

Kevin

John A. Shows
01-31-2005, 04:32 PM
There is a rubber wheel inside the unit that when mounted to the steering column makes contact with the hub of the steering wheel. As the steering wheel turns so does the rubber wheel. As the rubber wheel turns it shifts the turn signal lever back to center.

I had to lube my rubber wheel up and twist it back and forth until I freed it up before it would work.

Here's a pic (if it'll let me post it) of my brand new one.


Nope...it says I've already posted the pic in another thread...check out this thread for pics and the same info I posted earlier.

http://www.earlycj5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7317

kiowamtp
01-31-2005, 04:43 PM
Yes. That is the same one just mine is showing it's age. I was wondering if anyone had a pic with the cover removed.

As always thanks

Kevin

John A. Shows
01-31-2005, 05:28 PM
Sorry...no pic wihout the cover...but take the cover off and you'll plainly see what I'm talking about.

kiowamtp
01-31-2005, 06:05 PM
OH Trust me I plainly see!! I had so much gook and gunk in it that I overlooked how the light bulb was installed when I was cleaning it up. I just started rippin' her apart! :) I may have it back together correct, but was looking for a pic with cover off to verify. I will take a pic of mine and post. Either I will be right, or at the very least, it will give a good laugh to someone!!

TigerShark
02-01-2005, 10:44 AM
I can probably get some pics without the cover, if you can wait a day or two. I have two different types, one with the light bulb, one without. I'll see if I can get a picture of both.

Jim

kiowamtp
02-01-2005, 12:17 PM
Great!!

Thanks

jeepfreak81
02-23-2007, 03:31 PM
Does this switch need a separate relay for the flasher? I am wiring mine up right now.

jayhawkclint
02-23-2007, 04:34 PM
Mine had a can for the turn signals, and no hazzards. I think maybe at one time there was an optional hazzard switch installed separately in the dash, because I have an extra hole that I can't account for, but I don't know about on your flattie (mine is a '70). I would say no hazzard, 1 can for the signals.

panzer
02-24-2007, 10:27 AM
Maybe this would help.

http://www.jeep-trucks.com/WOJP/Electrical/Spartan.html

jeepfreak81
02-24-2007, 10:57 AM
weird mine is missing the indiacator light... wonder if these are available to purchase replicas?

sparky
02-24-2007, 11:22 AM
Sorry for another Sparton post!! I have searched high and low for the color codes for my wires. The links I found on this site are no longer active. If anyone has the information please post it. Thanks

Kevin

Kevin,
Could you point me to where the links are incorrect so I can fix them please?

kiowamtp
02-24-2007, 11:46 AM
Kevin,
Could you point me to where the links are incorrect so I can fix them please?


Sparky

This thread has been brought up from the grave...the deep grave.:beer:

I am sure your links are good right now.R)

sparky
02-24-2007, 11:52 AM
Sparky

This thread has been brought up from the grave...the deep grave.:beer:

I am sure your links are good right now.R)


Dangit. Thanks Kevin. I rarely pay attention to the date if a thread's active. :oops:

kiowamtp
02-24-2007, 12:01 PM
I have newer universal type switch that has flashers and only has one can.

I'm not really sure what the question is that brought this thread back up.

panzer
02-24-2007, 01:01 PM
Same here. I just now looked at the date.... :oops:

Cal
02-25-2007, 02:07 AM
I think post #12 had a question which has not been answered. And yes the 1970 had a seperate switch on the dash for the 4-way flasher.

jayhawkclint
02-25-2007, 10:02 AM
I'm not really sure what the question is that brought this thread back up.

Jeepfreak had a question in the flattie section. I sent him a link to this post. He asked a question in post #12. I tried to answer it in #13, but I guess I didn't fully understand the question.

jeepfreak81
02-25-2007, 12:35 PM
Jeepfreak had a question in the flattie section. I sent him a link to this post. He asked a question in post #12. I tried to answer it in #13, but I guess I didn't fully understand the question.


I asked if it needed a separate flasher to operate, of if it was built into the unit. When I tore it apart it did not look like it was built into the switch.

My buddy wired in a separate flasher and my turn signals still are not working, however they come on steady when I turn the lever to left or right.

jayhawkclint
02-25-2007, 03:48 PM
You're running 12vdc, not 6vdc, right? Sounds like you might want to try a little less resistance. Wire a couple bulbs in parrallel to test. Remember that a modern flasher is usually meant to run 3 bulbs simultaneously (front, side, rear).

jeepfreak81
02-25-2007, 03:55 PM
You're running 12vdc, not 6vdc, right? Sounds like you might want to try a little less resistance. Wire a couple bulbs in parrallel to test. Remember that a modern flasher is usually meant to run 3 bulbs simultaneously (front, side, rear).


Yes 12V dC lighting, but on top of that the front and rear signals are LED using an LED flasher inline